News Back

Summer Commendation Evening


It was another night of celebration for Falmouth School students at this year’s Summer Commendation Evening. Students in years 7, 8, 9, 10 and Falmouth College were recognised for a term of hard work in the five faculty areas of: Communications, STEM, Humanities, Performance and College. There was also the much-anticipated Student of the Year and the Significant Contribution awards.

In each category students received awards for either superb attainment throughout the term, or an excellent ‘Ready to Learn’ score, with awards handed out to Lower (years 7 and 8) and Upper School (years 9 and 10) students.  In the first category of the evening the winners for attainment in Communications were: Lauren Davis, Matthew Thomas, Katie Etchells, Callum Stephens.  Those who won Ready to Learn awards comprised: Archie Harvey, Molly Byass and Connor Burden.

The next award category were for STEM, which covers science, technology engineering and maths. The winners for attainment in STEM were: Luke Dobson, Ruby Stephens, Kiera Wright, Billy Ellwood. Those who won Ready to Learn awards comprised: Meryen Carey-Lang, Poppy Pentecost and Eddie Emsden. In Humanities the winners for attainment were: Sennen Austin-Smith, Ollie Henwood, James Chambers, Esmee Wyatt and the winners for Ready to Learn awards comprised Zack Smith, Summer Blackford and Samuel Hammond.

There was a brief break from the category awards, as Rosa Davies was presented with the Significant Contribution Award. Rosa has recently returned from volunteering in Nepal and raised significant funds for the community she visited with a 10k charity swim! Back to the awards categories and for Performance winners for Ready to Learn were: Grace Pennock, Zeno Scott, Abbie Burley, Adam Campbell and for attainment in performance: Harriette Ling and Piran Ashburn. Falmouth College students Ben Pellow, Emma Crisp, Josiah Godwin and Harvey Spear were all recognised for excellent attainment or progress.

The final awards of the evening were of course the Pupil of the Year awards. This year’s winners, were Lily Tuttiett (Year 7), Luke Dobson (Year 8), Phoebe Hulme (Year 9), Mya Gurrin (Year 10) and Kieran Coombes (College).

Deputy Headteacher Mike Hickman said “We are so proud of all the students at Falmouth school and especially proud of our award winners, they have reached the highest standards and they are fantastic ambassadors for the community of Falmouth.”


Posted on: 5/07/19

Head of School's Blog

Previous Next
View All News